SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
dlup

Showing off new homemade compost bin (photos)

dlup
13 years ago

Hi all,

This week I built my new compost bin and figured I would show it off (a few photos below). Because of some landscaping we did last summer, the old chicken wire hoop I had been using for the last eight years was not in an ideal location. And it was smaller than what I want, particularly given new found sources of horse manure and chicken manure/bedding. And it was time to build something new! This project has been on the books for two years and I finally got it done.

It is made of pine boards and 1/2 inch hardware cloth and has two bins that are each a little under 4x4x4 (curious assistant composter for scale). The sides and back are hardware cloth. The front panels and the middle divider are 1x6s on edge that can be removed for easy access and turning between bins. Following someone's suggestion in some post here somewhere, I used screws at the ends of the boards to space them at 1/2 inch for additional ventilation. The close up shows how I designed the brackets (1x2s and the vertical 1x6s on the front) to hold the front and middle panels. The lids are hinged and can be propped open while working.