SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
diggerdee

long - foundation planting, half sun help please

Hi guys,

Once again I am helping someone with a bed. This time, it's a foundation planting, and it is for someone who doesn't really garden, and does not want a garden per se, but some nice plantings in front. I keep insisting I'm not a designer, but my friends keep telling me I know more than they do so I should do a fine job! And in this particular bed, I'm twice as hesitant because I really do not know shrubs all that well. Please don't send me to the shrub forum, lol! I feel more comfortable here for now.

Anyway, the house is a dark blue with white trim, two storey. Center entry door, only two steps leading up to it with a small covered porch (about six feet wide and 3 to 4 feet deep), with a house width of 14.5 feet to the left as you look at it, and 11.5 feet to the right. We will probably be coming out about 6 feet, but that is not set in stone. It faces east (roughly) and (at least as of now) gets about half day sun, with the left side getting a bit more than the right. The land at the far right of the house slopes down. My friend does not want me to post a picture on-line so I hope I am being descriptive enough.

Oh, and her windows are quite low - only about 3.5 to 4 feet above ground level, so we do not want to block the windows. On each side, there is about 4 feet between the center entry door/porch and the windows, which are centered.

She pretty much has nothing there now, except two hostas, so it is a clean slate.

She has selected spirea Gold Mound as one choice, and has three for each side, which we were thinking of planting in a triangular formation (two near the house and one centered between the two but further forward).

So, we are looking for a low-growing, shade-tolerant, possibly flowering but not necessarily so, hopefully evergreen shrub to put in the center of that triangle.