SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
vandtbear1

5HP Briggs 1976 Tiller - Intake Valve Sticking

vandtbear1
17 years ago

Looking for a little advice. I had a 1976 Wizard front tine tiller given to me about 5 years ago. It has a 5HP Briggs engine. This thing has run like a top until this spring. Just a heads up, I am by no means a mechanic. Small engines are a new territory for me.

I go and get it out of the barn to do some spring maintenance, and it wonÂt start. I check the obvious and find no spark. I installed a new condenser and points. Spark problem fixed.

Next I pulled and cleaned the carb. I flushed the gas tank as well, got a little rust out. Re-assemble everything and it still wonÂt start. A neighbor stopped by and held his hand over the carb air intake while pulling the pull start rope. He stated that the intake valve appeared to be sticking by doing that.

We pulled the head and found that to be another problem I need to fix. It sticks open. I shot some PB Blaster & carb cleaner into the intake valve while rolling the crank shaft & closing the valve with the bottom of a wooden handle hammer. I did this for about 5 minutes. The valve seemed to free its self. I put the head back on, it starts and runs for about 15 seconds and dies. I repeat the above process. It starts and runs about 15 seconds and dies.

I think the valve starts to stick again once the engine heats us a little.

Is there a cheap fix to get the valve freed? Must I continue the PB Blaster process until I get enough build up dissolved in the valve or is there a better way to approach this?

A co-worker stated to pour a little automatic transmission fluid into the carb air intake when the engine does briefly run. He stated this will clean the intake valve nicely. I have yet to try this tip.

Any thoughts??

Comments (37)

• bill_kapaun
    17 years ago

IF the valve was sticking open, I wouldn't expect it to restart.
    It sounds more like a fuel supply issue to me.