SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
virginiamomma

Making a memorial Rose Garden for my beloved mothernlaw

virginiamomma
14 years ago

Hello everyone,

Hope you can advise and help me, I am a newbie here. My mother n law passed last week and my dh and I live 7 hours from where she will be buried. I would like very much to make a rose garden memorial area in honor of her. She loved her roses. Me I have no idea.... I do have a rose Area that is filled with knockout roses and two rose bushes that are doing fabulous for my mothers memorial area. My mother also loved her roses. I was fearful of doing roses because I thought they would be very very difficult. I haven't a clue what type of two rose bushes I planted in honor of my mother but they took off. Have gorgeous pink roses just ever blooming and still would have roses in Late November into Dec/ I am in Northern Va. Now that being said, I've tried 4 more rose bushes that never made it.

My question is I ordered a 3 framed arch, in honor of my amazing mother n law and my idea is to place in another area of my backyard with a memorial bench inside and thinking of climbing roses and rose bushes surrounding around it?? I think...????

But what Rose bushes do you suggest, What climbing roses/ and or other vines open to all options... and what rose bushes. What would you all suggest thats more no brainer roses.(besides knockouts) Does that make sense. I surely wouldnt want to do a rose garden memorial in honor of my mother n law with terrible success and this place is so my dh can go to this area and feel he is with his mother. He's in much sadness right now. I thought ... Since his mother had such a love for roses.. I just cant imagine not doing this special memorial area not surrounded by what she loved.