SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
zzyzzyx

Who here also grows carnivorous plants?

zzyzzyx
16 years ago

I only have two very young carnivorous plants since I am just learning these, and I wondered who else had some. I know there's another forum for such discussion, but my curiosity has led me to wonder if anyone might be growing any in a compot or other cohabitational setup.

Can Nepenthes (pitcher type) share a container/pot/basket with an orchid? If so, which combinations do you know of?

Comments (16)

• elvinwei
    16 years ago

i also grow carnivorous plants
    i have a ping and 2 pitcher plants, all are healthy so far (few months now)

from my understanding, nepenthes have VERY different soil requirements from orchids, but similar conditions (light, humidity)
    i think that is partially why so many orchid peeps have them, but i have never heard of putting them in one pot

the nepenthes needs a well drained peat moss mix that is moist with some drying in between. wait, i think the black jewel orchid would like that kind of soil as well

i do not think a nepenthes would survive in orchid bark

some carnivours plants are grown in sphag moss (strands not peat) like some orchids. maybe that would work

i wonder if nepenthes would grow in s/h
    i do not have the guts to do that experiment on my current nepenthes, but maybe i should go buy some that i don't care about and try planting them in s/h ....

• highjack
    16 years ago

I've grown carnivorous plants for a little over a week so I guess this makes me an expert - ROTFLMBO!

When reading the instructions for keeping these little fungus gnat eating machines thriving, it said to NOT fertilize them and orchids need to be fertilized. They also need to be planted in a very peat based mixed and that is a no no for most orchids, except a few terrestrials.

You now have all of my knowledge regarding carnivorous plants. Right now, I can't even name all of mine, I just want them to eat.

Brooke