SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
gayze

Phalaenopsis needs help?

gayze
17 years ago

Hi, I'm new to orchids (this Phal is my first and I've had it since November) and to this forum. I've been reading posts on helping Phalaenopsis for a good part of the morning, but haven't quite satisfied myself that I'm doing what I can for this plant. Thanks for any help you can offer.

I received this Phal in a mixed plant basket in November after my mom passed away. While it was a lovely gesture by some lovely friends, I've always had a bit of a brown thumb for house plants, so asked Mom to lend me some help from above. The other plants that were included (they were all replanted into new pots in mid December ... and now I suspect I waited too long ... are fine. The orchid, however, though it was gorgeous when it arrived (in full bloom with five lovely blossoms, which lasted over a month but are of course now gone and I've cut back the stalk to the first node as various websites on Phals have suggested), had been apparently stuffed into some sort of compressed paper stuff mixed with sphagnum moss and styrofoam chips, and it had already had one leaf start to turn yellow before I repotted. I repotted in orchid mix (a bark mixture), and when I did so, discovered that most of the roots had turned to black mush and died. There were a couple still living, though they looked rather rough, at the time. Since then, the three bottom leaves have all died (which happened in rapid succession after replanting ... since then, till now, the three remaining leaves have been fine), and the plant has yet to put out any new leaves ... or new root growth (*until this past week ... it appears that there are tips of two new aereal roots --?-- just starting to show at the points where two of the dead leaves fell off).