SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
janellelee_gw

new at organic gardening

janellelee
15 years ago

Im new at this and Im going to start a vege garden.

How should I treat the soil? I've purchased organic seeds. Im going to start them inside but I want to prepare the soil in my garden.

Thanks,

Jan

Comments (11)

• west9491
    15 years ago

if you can get compost (preferrably not the bagged stuff)that would be the best bet, work it into your soil. for optimum results, go ahead and plan for your garden next year, do so by having a soil test done to see if your ph and nutrient levels are in check.

in the mean time read up, there is unlimited organic knowledge just on gardenweb.

• organicguy
    15 years ago

You can also find some good resources & into on my website - see below.

I would suggest tilling the soil and working in as much com post or manure as possible. Amend the soil with Rock Phospate, Greensand and Blood meal if it is virgin soil, and also powered limestone if the soil in your area tends to be acidic. In late Fall, get a good soil test and adjust your soil nutrient levels as indicated. Good luck!

Ron
    The Garden Guy
    http://www.The GardenGuy.org
    New Article & Garden Journal Entries!

• Related Discussions

New at Organic Gardening (and pretty much gardening)

Q

Comments (4)
    I would also put down some Bone Meal. Its a very safe fertilizer, especially when planting or potting very young or new plants. Its used as a long-lasting source of phosphorous as well as low levels of nitrogen, potassium and calcium. Excellent for bulb plantings. Also good for reducing transplant shock and promoting extensive and healthy root systems.
    ...See More

Help with Roses - New to Organic Gardening

Q

Comments (1)