SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
lam13_gw

Advice on new organic raised bed garden

lam13
11 years ago

This is my first try at organic gardening. I have read so many websites/forums/blogs etc. trying to be as prepared as possible. There is such a variety of information that I have thoroughly confused myself! I'm having trouble already and I'm only 10 days in.

Beds and Soil

We constructed 3 raised beds, 3 x 6, 17 inches high. Since we needed a large amount of soil to get started, I bought in bulk. The first truckload I purchased was mostly screened topsoil with a good bit of sand and minimal compost material. The second truckload I purchased from another company was advertised as mature compost made up of spent grain from a local brewing company, composted horse manure and "zoo poo" from our local zoo. I worked some of the second load into the first, but the top 5 inches is primarily the compost load.

Fertilizer/Additives

I did not add anything else to the soil, believing the mature compost would provide the needed nutrients to the plants initially. (The company I purchased it from planted directly in the same batch of compost and everything looked like it was doing well at their farm.) I did expect possibly adding fish emulsion, compost tea or similar later during the season if needed and my own compost at the end of the season. (Not ready yet.)

Vegetables Planted

I planted quite the variety, mostly following the square foot gardening method - tomatoes, peppers, zucchini, squash, cucumbers, okra, mesclun, carrots, beans, eggplant and melons. The tomatoes I purchased from a local botanical society sale, the peppers, zukes, squash and cukes I purchased as small plants from HD and the remaining vegetables I grew from seed.

Watering