SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
rmkleman

First Lawn Help, *Checklist Inside* Zone 5 lots of ?'s

rmkleman
15 years ago

Hello, I have been searching around on here for awile now (i am usualy over in the remodeling forum on gardenweb) I am new to upkeeping a nice lawn, i just purchased my first house this year. Its a 1969 ranch. The couple before me had the lawn fertilized by a lawn care company in the past but it may have been some time since it was done last. I found the checklist for newbies so i will start with that.

I want to at least work on getting the front yard looking good. I bought a bag of menards weed and feed thats part of a 4 step program that has 1?, 2 weed and feed,3 feed?, 4 winterizer stuff? I have not spread it yet...

Pretty much the crabgrass is starting to take over the yard. It has thin spots, the yard is lumpy (needs rolled maybe??) There are 2 small parts with a few little mushrooms, the lawn looks like its half yellow (maybe lack of rain the past weeks) There are bare spots in a lot of places.

Can you guys start me off with what i can do this year as well as tell me what i can do next year and when it has to be done? example: Plant new grass, then fertilize, then roll yard ect...

Thanks so much i will be checking this a lot through the day so any questions or comments let me know thanks!

Background Information:

1. Where you live?

Northwestern Ohio (zone 5??)

2. What type of grass you have?

Sorry i have no idea i know there is crabgrass :P

3. What products you have applied to your lawn, and how much? These include fertilizer, herbicide, fungicide, insecticide, etc.

None I used one small bottle of stuff from menards this morning for the first time.

4. How often and how long you irrigate?

Only time i have watered the lawn was when i sprayed the cheap weed stuff from menards.

5. Is the lawn established, or have you recently seeded/re-seeded or added sod? If so, when?