SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
mowingman011

Help needed in finding the perfect self propelled mower

mowingman011
14 years ago

Hi,

I've been using a cheap push mower from Walmart for the last 3 years, and am pretty much fed up with it. I recently purchased this Craftsman mower to replace it:

http://www.sears.com/shc/s/p_10153_12605_07137683000P?vName=Lawn+%26+Garden&cName=Walk-Behind+Lawn+Mowers&sName=Self-Propelled+Lawn+Mowers

I like it quite a bit, but the self propelled setting is way too slow for me!!! I was thinking that I would be able to mow my lawn faster with a self propelled model than I could with my old push mower, but this isn't the case (at least not with the craftsman).

Are there any self propelled mowers that go at least 3.5 mph? I think I push my old mower around 3 mph, so I want something at least that fast, if not faster.

Here is what I'm looking for:

- Self Propelled (rear wheel if possible)

- Multiple speed levels

- High rear wheels

- 3 in 1 mulching mower

Is there such thing as a rear propelled high wheel mower? I've never seen one, so I wasn't sure.

The Toro 20333 looks just about perfect. Just how fast does it go on the highest setting?

I'm open to any recommendations, so all help is welcome. Thanks!

Comments (29)

• stinkytiger
    14 years ago

Hi,

I have a Honda HRC 216 commercial mower which is now 4 years old. I would say this is the Rolls Royce of mowers. It is expensive at about $US 1,300 and is heavy at about 125 lbs. It is rear wheel self propelled. Is a HYDRO so speed is variable to what ever you want. Is mulching and goes at a fair clip. Many professional lawn service guys use it. Sometimes they tweek it. Two known tweeks are on the carb to make the engine spin a little faster, and also to let out the SL cable that controls the HYDRo transmission to speed up the running speed. Note both tweeks void the warranty, but pros do it to increase their speed to get work done.