SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
brandon7_gw

An Annoying Question about Apple and Pear Trees

brandon7 TN_zone7
16 years ago

I know this question has surely been asked before too many times, and I know there are many answers depending on many factors, but I would like to know which apple trees (for eating fresh and for cooking) and which pear trees (both European and Asian) are best. The parameters that I can identify so far are:

1. Trees will be planted in East Tennessee (zone 6b technically, zone 7b realistically).

2. Trees will need to be no-spray or nearly no-spray varieties.

3. Fruit needs to taste as good as possible.

4. Quality of fruit is much more important than quantity.

5. Long shelf life would be great, but will not be a limiting factor.

6. Trees that will produce over a long period of time are preferred over short lived/short production life trees.

If there are things that I've missed, please let me know. As you can probably tell from my question, I am an amateur when it comes to fruit trees. I am willing to listen to any advise from experienced growers.

Comments (12)

• jellyman
    16 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Brandon: