SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
gsweater

Poa Annua and other grasses

gsweater
11 years ago

My wife and I purchased and old farm about 4-5 years back. Then, the entire yard was weeds. I've spent the last few years fighting them and am confident in claiming victory with the exception on annua poa. While there is not nearly as much as there was before by any means, I can't stand it when it goes to seed. I have these questions for the helpful folks here.

* The spots I have are relatively small now. Say 1'*1' or so. Can I simply hand pull the seeds? Yes, I know there are dormant seeds in the base. But will this help? There are few enough spots I could do this at this time of year as the seed stems come up quite easily. I know I could dig to find the base, but seems easier for me to just pull the heads since it's an annual.

* I've been reseeding with high quality seed for 3 years now and the difference is VERY noticeable. Nearly no poa vs. 90+ % poa previously. I know the poa seeds still sit there waiting... lurking... Should I continue this path? I'm hoping healthy KBG will help tamper it off?