SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
llckll_gw

Convert braided trunk pachira aquatica to single trunk

llckll
10 years ago

Hi All,

I'm pretty new to indoor house plants but it's been very rewarding and hope to learn a lot through these forums.

I have a braided pachira aquatica about 1.5' high. I was reading through the forums and people say that single trunks will thrive better.

What is the proper way to un-braid and plant as single trunks?

Right now, it's also in regular potting soil. I think i'm going to create a mix of 1:1 potting soil and perlite. Would that be a good mix? Any other recommendations? New stems are growing but I'm sure with the right soil mix, it can thrive even more.

Also, I saw a YouTube video this morning where someone cut off a few stems and placed it in water. After a couple months, it started growing healthy roots in the water. So I proceeded to do the same this morning and placed a few stems in water. Once roots come out, I was planning on re-potting in the recommended soil. Your thoughts?

I will post pics of my current plant later on when I get home.

All your advice is greatly appreciated!

Comments (83)

• jane__ny
    8 years ago

My large Pachira got blown over during a storm and a branch was snapped. After getting the tree upright again, I stuck the stem in a small pot which was nearby. It rooted. This photo shows the branch with the leaves which never fell off. The branch/cutting was put in a place where I forgot about it until a month later. It is well rooted after 4 months with roots coming out of the small pot. I guess this would be called a woody branch, but I was surprised a piece this big rooted without any leaf loss.

In this shot you can see new growth at the top
    Roots coming out of a crack in the bottom of the pot. This is a 6" pot
    This is a shot of the broken branch on the large tree which is now making a new branch. I realize I should have cleaned that up. Will do tomorrow!