SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
mark234_gw

Norfolk Island Pine - Needles & Tips Gradually Dying

Mark234
10 years ago

This is my first time posting on this site (or any site for that matter). I've appreciated some of the excellent posts I've read here.
I have a Norfolk Island Pine (Araucaria heterophylla) that someone gave to me last year. It was in need of a repotting. After some research to find if this type of plant has any special soil requirements I came across Al's Gritty Mix elsewhere on this site and decided to give it a try. I now have several plants potted in this mix (a schlumbergera, several spider plants, an aloe vera, and a dwarf schefflera) and most of these are doing really well. However the Norfolk has been suffering both prior to and after the repotting. What has been happening is that the needles on the top stem started to turn brown. Then along the sides of the plant one by one some needles have also turned brown. Lately the tips, where growth normally is observed, are turning a sort of greyish color, like something is impairing their attempted new growth. In a few places the grayish tip growth has turned brown.

The following summarizes what I have tried and how I have been caring for this plant:
- Feeding every watering (http://www.botanicare.com/Pure-Blend-Pro-Grow-3-2-4-P43.aspx) at 1 tsp per 3 liters (their recommended rate). I adjust pH of water/plant food mix to about 5.8 (phosphoric acid pH-Down) and use Brita-filtered water.
- I bought 2 humidifiers for my plants and that with humidity trays keeps RH at about 55%.
- The Norfolk is misted about 3 times per day.
- I allow top inch of gritty mix to get dry between waterings and then do a drench watering and allow the excess to drain (works out to about 1 drench watering/week).