SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
aling_gw

Help, Problem with Squash and Zucchini

aling
15 years ago

Hello All! I am brand new to gardening this year and am in need of some help... I have 4 zucchini plants and they started out wonderfully... they grew quickly, had deep green leaves and lots of blooms. About 3 weeks ago the older bigger leaves and stems started turning yellow, then died. 3 of them seem to be filling back in with new green leaves, but I am worried and not sure if this is normal??? In the mean time ONE plant produced ONE fruit, which has not grown any bigger in over a week, maybe even two weeks! (it is only about 3 1/2 inches long 1 inch wide). I know you are not supposed to let them get bigger than 6 inches so I have been watching closely, it has not budged! When I checked today it is now starting to turn yellow. Not yellow just at the end, yellowish green throughout the fruit. Again, this is my only fruit produced out of all 4 plants and there were TONS of blooms! I have already lost my four yellow squash plants from some type of blossom end rot, could this be the same thing that caused my yellow squash to die? Should I prune all of the dead and soon to be dead leaves off of the plants? Is this normal? HELP!

Comments (33)

• robofarmer
    15 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

there are a lot of possibilities, but the two main suspects would be a lack of iron or a leaf disease. the latter usually occurs with frequent leaf watering and warm temperatures. I would first suspect a lack of Iron. if yer soil ph is too high or too low, then you will be locking out alot of micro nutrients, such as iron, manganese, calcium. the yellow leaf is a sympton of a lack of iron and i would suggest you use a CHELATED iron(available at nurseries) to mix into the top one inch soil layer. the new growth will look green and vigorous. also you might look for a chelated micro nutrient supplement to your soil if the ph is not between 6-7

• fishymamas