SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
kalie_florida

Is it time to hill these potatoes?

Kalie
10 years ago

It's my first time growing potatoes and they've only been in the ground 2 weeks, but there is about 6-10 inches above the plants!

Questions:
Is it time to hill some dirt around the stems?

Should there be this many stems above each potato seed planted?

I haven't used any fertilizer thus far. The soil was amended with compost and peat prior to planting. Do potatoes need fertilizing at any point?

Comments (33)

• digdirt2
    10 years ago

Yes, it is past time so do it ASAP. You need to hill up around the stems as they grow, especially the varieties that will produce tubers above the root level.

They will require feeding of some kind regularly throughout the season for best production. What you use is your choice. If you have an active soil micro herd then regular additions of more fresh compost may be sufficient.

Number of stems depends on the variety and the size of the seed potato you planted. More stems usually means more potatoes but smaller (all other variables being equal), less stems usually means less potatoes but larger ones.

Dave

• ltilton
    10 years ago

If you planted seed potatoes with lots of eyes, you'll get lots of sprouts.

Ronniger's recommends fertilizing with diluted molasses.

• Related Discussions

Hill up potatoes with peat/perlite?

Q

Comments (5)