SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
prairiemoon2

Working with Cattle Panels question

We are constructing vertical supports for the vegetable garden this year. I've never worked with cattle panels before. We picked them up and have them home, and are about to work with them, but they are bowed a little bit. We'd like to straighten them out before using them. Right now we have them laid across an empty raised vegetable bed with weights on them. I don't know if that is going to do the trick, so I thought I'd ask if there is another way to do it?

Comments (45)

• catherinet
    9 years ago

That sounds pretty good to me. Are you just going to run them horizontal to the ground, when you use them for vertical supports? I'm sure you are probably using several metal stakes for each panel, so that should also keep them straight once they are upright.
    Just for your info.......when I tried to use them for smaller tendrilled plants like cucs and pole beans, they didn't seem to like the bigger gauge "wire"......although the winter squash really liked it. Good luck with your project!

• prairiemoon2 z6b MA
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Oops! I was planning on using one of the panels for Pole Beans and Cucumbers, Peas in the fall. Did they not climb it at all? I've used bamboo poles in the past for pole beans and those are thicker than the wire on these panels. The pole beans still managed to climb them. I don't usually grow cukes so I have no experience with those.

Yes, we were planning on using them horizontal to the ground with vertical supports.

Thanks for your input, and I will post an update once we get them finished and how it works out when we try growing on them.

This post was edited by prairiemoon2 on Thu, May 29, 14 at 7:28

• Related Discussions

Cattle panel trellis question

Q

Comments (1)
    Sorry folks, I meant this to go to the vegetable gardening forum.
    ...See More

Cattle Panels

Q

Comments (8)