SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
loreleie415

Sloped Front Yard Lawn Removal

loreleie
11 years ago

I would really appreciate some suggestions & advice from experienced professionals for my first big project. I am not a designer but I studied horticulture & took 2 semesters of landscape construction. I've been working for the past 2.5 years doing mainly garden maintenance and love doing stuff with rocks & stone, but I am totally new & inexperienced.

This project is a front yard lawn removal and it's going to be a succulent garden that I plan to terrace with cinder moss rock. So far, the lawn is gone and I've amended the soil. 1 ton of cinder moss rock has been delivered.

The main part is 13' x 13' and it's sloped, And that's mainly what I need help dealing with is the slope. There are also spaces on each side of the entryway and one side has a little semi circle retaining wall (like a tree well) made with wall block~ If I mess with those blocks, all the dirt spills into neighbors driveway. I was thinking maybe I'd try and remove like 1 or 2 blocks in order to plant something that trails down over to camouflage the block but then I'm still undecided what to do for each side of the entryway. (One thought is a big tall vase on each side, but still not sure)

So the 2 main areas I like any suggestions/ advice for are 1)selecting either the right plant or architectural feature(s)to put on either side of the front entryway(nothing fancy or complicated). I don't think a tree is a good idea since it will litter all over the succulents and shade them but some height & something contrasting and soft against the house maybe. What ever goes there has to be able to tolerate wind.