SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
lathyrus_odoratus

African Violets in Gritty Mix or 5:1:1

lathyrus_odoratus
14 years ago

I mentioned this in one of the soil threads, but have more questions, so wanted to make it a dedicated thread.

I am convinced that many of the problems that many growers have with AVs is because of the very wet peat based soil we all use to grow them. I filled three, 3 oz Solo cups (often used to start leaves) each with gritty mix, 5:1:1, and a typical AV mix of 1:1:1 peat, vermiculite and perlite.

I added 15ml of water to each and mixed well. Then, I added 25ml more water to each. I had holes punched in the bottom and I let them drain.

The gritty mix drained 11 ml, the 5:1:1 drained 10 ml, and the 1:1:1 drained no water.

I believe that most of us who get good results have learned how to manage this slow soil mix, but that it's not optimal. But, I'm relatively new to this and I don't know much about the other components and how they might affect AV culture. Some of my fellow AV growers think I'm crazy to entertain that the 1:1:1 isn't the best mix. Mostly, I think they believe that the alternatives will cause problems.

So, I need some help and knowledge from all of you who know more about these components than I.

First, the bark. The criticism I've heard is that it's too acid and that it will decompose quickly, taking the pH too low, causing problems with ferts. I do not think the bark will decompose that quickly, but I don't know what happens when bark decomposes. Does it create a more acid environment? From my research, AVs can take a pH from about 5.5 to about 7. In that range, many people say that there are better sweet spots - say, 6.5-7 vs 5.5-6 - so there isn't agreement, but I think we can safely say they will grow in anything in that range.