SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
drose5000

Need design advice - covering perennial(s) beside lilac

drose5000
16 years ago

Hi,

I'm a newbie on this forum and new to outdoor gardening, (after many years of having an indoor green thumb). Last year I bought my first place and I'm the designated gardener (it's 2 condos in a 2-family and the other unit knows *nothing* of plants, so they've designated me the designer and gardener).

The garden I inherited was best defined as: shrub (rhododendron), shrub (Andromedia), 6' of dirt (where shrub obviously died), shrub (evergreen) on one side. And on the side in question (the space between driveway and front stairs), there is/was privet hedge, dirt, evergreen shrub). So last year I planted a lilac bush in the middle between the privet and the evergreen. In the zeal of my first spring, I bought many flowering bulbs from Home Depot and planted them all around the lilac... only to realize that after their short lives, I had to look at dead leaves.

So I am looking for something in the space around the lilac to lend ground-cover over the dying bulb vegetation and make it look nicer all season long.

For lack of imagination, I thought of pachysandria as ground cover, not realizing how slowly it would grow together. So I pain-stakingly planted many small plants there and ended up with a garden of hair-plug like plants - most unattractive.

This is the spring to fix that! The lilac is doing well. The bulbs are coming up now. But after the bulbs have died back, I want to dig up that area around the lilac and plant some kind of perennial(s) to add texture, fullness and color. (I plan to replant the bulbs on top of/in between the perennials...).

I should also mention my favorite style of gardening is the English style where there are tons of plants in varying color, texture and sizes together and you don't see the earth (as opposed to the more common American style of plants spread apart and bark mulch in between).