How do you know when to pick apples?

nettlerose(Canberra ACT)March 9, 2005

I am a novice apple grower and for the first time I actually have apples on my two trees that don't have codling moth. They are Granny Smith and Lady Williams which are later apples (May/June) but I was wondering how do you tell when they are ready to pick? It is not like a nectarine or other fruit that you can feel, or is it? I know I have a couple of months but thought I would get in early as some look ready to pick now size wise.

Eve

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
ozmantis(VIC Aust)

When they start falling on the ground and your dog is eating them :-)

Bookmark   March 9, 2005 at 8:27PM
Raymondo(Armidale, NSW)

That's not as silly as it sounds. As a kid, our neighbours had apple trees and when they started looking close, we'd start sampling them until they ripened enough to eat, then gorge ourselves. If caught of course, we got into lots of trouble but back then we were young, quick and agile, and could scamper without being seen. Most of the time! But the owners of the trees started picking when the first few fell.

Bookmark   March 9, 2005 at 8:36PM
nettlerose(Canberra ACT)

Thats my problem ozmantis. We don't have a dog. :)

There is a big granny on one of them and it looks ready to me but in theory they shouldn't be ready unitl May. I know this seems like a super dumb question but I really have no idea. I guess trial and error is the answer. Some little undeveloped ones fell onto the ground a few months ago but they were not ready they must have been drought stressed.

Thanks guys.

Bookmark   March 9, 2005 at 10:01PM
Spatzbear(SA Aust)