Welcome to raisemybeds's Member Page

See my Clippings        See my Journal        See my trade list        Send me an email

I am a stay-at-home Mom currently caring for a husband, 2 school-aged children, 2 cats, a dog, and 4 raised beds that my great hubby built for me in our suburban backyard. Each bed is 4ft by 8ft and about 18" tall, making them easy to maintain and solving the problem of our native rocky clay soil. Each year we try to erect one new bed (they are a project to make) and last year we had trees removed just to get better sunlight on the garden area. I have always loved messing around in the dirt and planted my first tomato in a hole in the backyard, not understanding its "needs". I learned from my mistakes year after year and now I really believe in raised bed gardening. I get a pretty high yield from these beds, relying on lots of good vertical support. I grow tomatoes, squashes, peas, beans, cucumbers, and some herbs too (tons of basil because the whole family loves it). It has been a great joy to see my youngest child take an interest in gardening - we grew a giant pumpkin together 2 years ago. It only got to 100" circumference before the experiment failed because of a rotted bottom (blossom end) which wasn't kept dry enough. We did not have a big field area so we were sacrificing one entire raised bed to the pumpkin, and, let me witness, you CAN grow a pumpkin out of a raised bed with some planning of where you're going to put the vines.

We are considering moving within the next few years, and one of the primary considerations is having a better situated and larger gardening area in which to build new raised beds!

I live in: United States

My zone is: SouthernCT

First registered on March 27, 2003 .