Welcome to mellen's Member Page

See my Clippings        See my Journal        See my trade list        Send me an email

Hello all! My name is Mary Ellen/Mellen. Hubby and I have been married for 33 years, and it just seems like last week. We do not have any bio children, but we do have 1 son who we fostered when he was 13 and adopted when he was 16. He is now 23 and working in Minnesota.
I have been a special needs teacher for 31 years with 29 of them with middle schoolers. The past 2 years I have been an elementary teacher. I still love my job even after all of these years. My husband is a crop insurance adjuster and does all of the cooking and laundry at home. :))
DH and I built a new home 5 years ago on 20+ acres of land that our former landlady sold to us. The land that she sold to us has been in her family for over 100 years so being able to buy a piece of it from her was a dream come true. In the past couple of years we have been able to acquire a few more acres next to us in order to "square off" our acreage. So now we have about 30 acres. Much of it is pasture for our purebred Angus cattle and 1 horse. We also have 1 dog and 2 cats. For those of you who know me, we had another cat "adopt" us this past Thanksgiving. That is how we get all of our critters.
I, too, love to garden. I have many favorites such as daylilies, hostas, coral bells, and coneflowers. I have special beds for the daylilies and hostas. Another garden girlfriend and I always have a plant sale the first Saturday in May. We have tons of fun and have always had good sales.
I have met many people here on GW who have become good friends. I think if we met in person, we could probably talk for hours on end.

I live in: United States

My zone is: 4a/5-ctrl. IA

First registered on May 03, 2004 .