Welcome to gardenfox's Member Page

See my Clippings        See my Journal        See my trade list        Send me an email

Hi there-- I'm a bit of a newbie to outdoor gardening, but have just aquired a *speck* of soil outside our apartments to cultivate (in exchange for keeping our rent low, heh heh). SO, after years of indoor gardening, I am fortunate enough to have annuals, bulbs, veggies, and such for the first time!

I absolutely LOVE this site. You guys rock.

Other interests: I'm an artist; abstact, illustration, scientific realism and fine art (whatever that is). I use a variety of media, including, but not limited to, pastels, oils, acrylics, pen & ink, brush & ink, colored pencil (my favorite), and whatever random materials strike my fancy.

I also have several pets! Four cats: Gwen, Phoebe, Bonnie and Naomi. Varying numbers of rats (I breed dwarves, Himilayans and dumbos in various colors), at present I have six. Fish! Lots!: Cichlids (I breed Kribensis), a Red Tailed shark, a pleco, Panda Cories, Reticulated Cories (False Julies), Keyhole Cichlids, Pearl Danios, White Cloud Mountain Minnows, a single Betta named Sultan, four comet goldfish and two Shubunkin goldfish. One albino mouse, Auntie Opal, who was rescued from certain death as snake food and now lives with my female rats and helps out with the babies (periodically mistaken for a baby herself, and dragged back to the nest by a concerned momma. She doesn't seem to mind-- she's a very good natured little mousie). Last but not least, a foot-long male African Giant millipede named Pedey.

I am awaiting an American Singer canary, due to hatch around October :)

I live in Santa Cruz, CA, where the weather is fair nine months out of the year. The other three it RAINS. Bunches. Buckets. The beach a block from our house gets washed away every spring, and the road is flooded at least once.

No, I don't surf. Unlike most folks in the area. I hear the surfing's good.

I have a wonderful husband who is the light of my life. We just celebrated our ninth anniversary August eleventh :) No kids yet-- my pets and plants are enough at the moment! I'm putting off kids until I finish my B.A. in Philosophy.

Returning student, 33. Um, red hair, 5'8", Capricorn. Bit of a spaz.

So that's me. Who are you? ;)

Happy Horting!

I live in: United States

My zone is: z9b CA

My favorite forum 1 is Garden Exchange.

First registered on August 07, 2005 .